Podcast and the Holland Thing

As promised, this is the post that will discuss some ‘supplementary materials’ related to our book study. As you may or may not have realized already, Robert Rummel-Hudson began his literary journey by writing a blog, way back in 1995–before blogs were even a thing! You can take a look at some of his work here and here. You can find more information about the book here.

Welcome to Holland

I also wanted to share the link to “Welcome to Holland” by Emily Perl Kingsley. Rummel-Hudson refers to this piece in chapter 6. I’m sure many of you are familiar with this already, but I wanted to share the link, incase some of you are not.

Podcast

Shortly after I ordered my copy of the book, but before it arrived, I decided to check out this podcast. Rummel-Hudson is the guest of the day. As I listened, several statements popped out at me as particularly interesting. I wonder what you all think about these statements:

“Many [children with special needs] are being grossly short-changed” (due to budget cuts etc.)

“design programs on what a child can’t do instead of what a child cannot do yet

“Special needs kids need especially loud and pushy parents to go to bat for them at school.”

“Trying to find an answer was the worst part.”

“85% of couples with disabilities split up.”

“I was helping Schuyler find her big-girl voice”

“She’s not defined by those differences now.”

Do you have any thoughts about these quotes? Do you think they are fair/accurate/true?? Do you find any of these statements thought-provoking?

 

Leave a comment