When It’s Time for Goodbye

Happy Friday! Is it me, or do short work weeks seems so much longer than regular weeks? Oh well, we made it!

On Tuesday, we talked about releasing students and how to decide when it is time to release. Apparently, this is a topic that ASHA finds important as well. Many of the points in this article from reflect Tuesday’s discussion. The section labeled “Avoid an all-or-nothing approach” makes very similar points to a PD Melissa and I have presented a few times to different role groups and summarized in this post. A similar topic was covered by the middle/high PLC when they created this checklist.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you have other tools that are helpful in deciding when it is time to release students? Do you find that most opposition comes from parents or from other professionals? How do you deal with opposition?

One thought on “When It’s Time for Goodbye

  1. Kim raho says:

    Yes, this is the first year I am conversations with teachers and parents who do not always agree a student is ready to exit speech therapy. I have had the AP and Counselor come listen to the group and talk to my students (artic) in the hallways to have backup. I just talked to a teacher yesterday and asked what she thought about JOE being in speech therapy as a 4th grader. She replied…”Why is he in speech?” BINGO I said. I also stress pulling students 3-5th grade from content areas to work on something that they have. No need to waste anyone’s time. The hardest time I question release is when a student does perfectly in speech therapy- 100% accuracy say on our fav R sound- but as soon as she hits the door -it becomes “doe”. For the older kids, I keep saying that I can’t follow them around and bop them on their head the rest of their life when they are CHOSING not to use the sound they know. Getting the R is hard enough…keeping it for older kids…well that’s on them. I wasn’t here for this discussion Tuesday but I wish I could have been!
    Kim Raho

Leave a Reply

